

**Lyndsay McKeown,** Senior Manager, Marketing & Design 800.AGA.7211 | Imckeown@agacgfm.org

#### ---FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE---

March 8, 2022

# AGA Presents National Leadership Awards; New Award Recognizes Diversity Leadership

(Alexandria, Va.) AGA is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2022 National Leadership Awards, presented at AGA's National Leadership Training (NLT) event, held in Washington, D.C., on February 22–23, 2022. The annual awards recognize individuals for significant contributions to the government financial management profession in the previous year.

A new award was added this year to recognize achievement in diversity, equity, inclusion, and accessibility (DEI&A). Three women received the Eleanor Clark Diversity Achievement Award (the Ellie), which recognizes public sector leaders who have demonstrated excellence and results in DEI&A in their organization or made a significant impact on the public. The award is named for Ellie Clark, the first woman to serve as AGA National President.

Awards and recipients include:

Robert W. King Award (given posthumously) Harold "Hal" Steinberg, CGFM, CPA

# Distinguished Local Government Leadership Award

Katherine Miller, County Manager, Santa Fe County, New Mexico

### William R. Snodgrass Distinguished Leadership Award

Kathy Stickel, CGFM, CPA, Director, Division of State Audit, Tennessee Comptroller of the Treasury

#### Private Sector Financial Excellence Award

Daniel S. Fitzgerald, CPA, Partner, Audit & Assurance, Deloitte & Touche LLP

#### Excellence in Government Leadership Award

Joann Bury, Director of Finance, City of Gahanna, Ohio





#### **Elmer Staats Award**

George Tomchick, Deputy CFO, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)

## **Andy Barr Award**

Keith Taylor, CGFM, CPA, CEO, 2nd Wave

## Eleanor Clark Diversity Leadership Award

- Tinisha Agramonte, Chief Diversity Officer, Motorola Solutions (for project while employed at U.S. Dept. of Commerce)
- **Zina Daché Merritt**, Special Assistant to the Comptroller General for Diversity, U.S. Government Accountability Office
- Nikita Pearson, Director, Office of Minority and Women Inclusion, FDIC

AGA CEO Ann Ebberts said AGA enjoys recognizing leaders in the broad government financial management community who head agencies and drive initiatives to improve government accountability and transparency. "It is great to be able to showcase these leaders for their peers at NLT, an educational event AGA hosts to further professional and personal development," she said.

Ten college students, who attended NLT on scholarships awarded through AGA's National Collegiate Leadership Program, were also honored during the event. The program offers students an opportunity to interact with government financial leaders throughout the event, including special sessions and one-on-one mentoring.

The 2022 scholarship recipients include: Kaitlyn Dortch and Kaylee Foster, Mississippi College; Alaney Dunton, University of Southern Mississippi; Christel Marie Espiritu, University of Guam; Pilar Jaurena, Shalei Okamura and Colton Williams, Cameron University; Maksim Poklonskii, University of Washington Bothell; Matthew Williams, Drake University; and Xinyu Zhang, American University.

"I was impressed with our scholarship winners this year," Ebberts noted. "The sessions they attended and their interactions with the AGA leaders who served as their mentors introduced them to the real impact financial professionals can make in government in service to citizens."

To learn more about AGA and its programs, see AGA's website.

